Do less, but better

How experiments are helping me build a business without burnout.

I dove into the deep end of building "something" five months ago when I first got laid off.

I tweeted, instagramed, built products to sell on Etsy, published on LinkedIn and tried writing content. Hell, I started this newsletter!

I did all of this with no focus. It burned up a lot of energy, and I crashed.

I was doing everything just enough.

Just enough. Not great. Not even good enough.

I needed to do less but better.

How can we do less but better every day?

Last week I shared my 50x experiments. But why did I choose only three?

To focus my energy and efforts to finally do something with commitment and focus.

I could easily say, "yeah, it's great! I can post on LinkedIn and then on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter because it can be the same."

But this strategy was not working for me and probably isn't working for most people. Audiences on different networks require and expect unique interactions.

By focusing my energy on only LinkedIn, content writing, and connecting, I'm able to put my focus on and do better. (Look, ma! I’m not scrambling to get this done!)

Here are several moves we can make as we grow our business

  • LinkedIn

  • Twitter

  • Instagram

  • Facebook

  • Local Events

  • Content Marketing

  • YouTube

  • Cold call/emailing

  • Networking

  • Partnerships

  • Host Events

Imagine doing all of that all the time while still trying to do your dedicated work.

Maybe you are. Do you know what is working and what is not?

I encourage you to pick two to three to focus on. If you don't know what is working, you don't know how to adjust and improve.

My next steps are to review my progress, and after completing at least 50 activities, I'll decide what works for me.

Mindset shift

Narrowing down my efforts also has changed my mindset. Before making this shift into the 50x experiment, I thought spending time writing content or publishing on Twitter was getting me nowhere. The real problem was I didn't know if it was getting me anywhere.

That leads to disappointment, which leads to quitting, which leads to not moving my business forward.

Now, I have a clear way of looking at my efforts, tracking the success (or fails), and making smart decisions moving forward.

Marketing is a big experiment, and so is this building a business thing.

I've always considered marketing to be centered around experimenting. And now that I'm bringing these experiments into building a business, I know it is essential to learning and growing.

I predict that at the end of these 50 days, LinkedIn will not be that important to me. But before, I was just using it and hoping and praying, and now I'm going to have some evidence to support my decisions.

Or will it prove me wrong?

✌️ Things On My Mind

🤖 I played Roblox for the first time this weekend. Are we going to end up with a generation of gamblers?

📸 How often should you be posting on social media? This is a common question I’ve been digging into. Hello Media is an expert, and here’s what they say [post]: 3x a week, 10x a week, it’s not that simple. Focus on consistency and cadence. Also, lower your expectations.

Thank you for reading! I’m excited about the busy week ahead. I hope you have a fun-filled, journey-packed week too!

Lyndee

P.S. Working on my blog 🙌 Today is on how to build trust and credibility online.