You're Crushing It

A simple formula for crushing it every day + systems I'm using

“Oh, I know I’m crushing it every day.”

This is my best friend. She’s confident but never cocky.

“You do?”

“Hell yeah. It’s easy.”

We both know it isn’t easy, but she’s right. Because every day, she walks away knowing that she showed up and did her best.

Crushing it is one thing. Knowing that we’re crushing it is another.

It takes honesty with ourselves. Honesty that not every day we’re able to give it our all. And honesty that we have to show up to get moving forward.

The next day, I taped this to my wall. It’s still here, 10 months later.

Here's one as a reminder of how to get there...

Crushing it

Building a one-person business can feel like the opposite of crushing it.

Here’s my promise to myself: I will show up to my fullest every day. I will walk away knowing that I did my best. I will crush it.

Systems are key to helping me stay honest. So I started the 50x Experiment. Here are three systems I'm testing right now:

  • 50x LinkedIn - Posting, DMing, engaging, or connecting with people every day on LinkedIn. Choose 1 or all 4. Skipping weekends is ok.

  • 50x Content - Writing content for my brand every day. It can be working on writing or publishing. My goal is to get to the point of publishing more often.

  • 50x Connection - Talking to people (preferably in person or 1:1 video) about their business once a week.

Today, I am almost 3 weeks into these experiments. By the end, this is what I hope to learn:

  • Is LinkedIn a good platform for my business?

  • Am I finding people that need my services?

  • Am I learning anything from the other freelancers and business owners I’m connecting with?

  • Is practicing writing every day helping me become a better writer?

  • Am I getting faster at coming up with fresh content ideas?

  • Have I met any people that just blow me away and want to work with?

  • Have I found groups or organizations I want to be a part of?

I will report back to you when each one finishes.

Marketing is one big experiment. And if we are stuck in how we do it, we are stuck in not knowing what works best.

Build experiments into your business, and let me know what you discover.

Should we do a 50x experiment together? I have a few ideas for my next one.

3 things about 3 things that 👀

Code.org Free coding for kids/teachers. My son's school now has a coding club. Please, everyone, teach our kids to code.

Healthier Chocolate Banana Muffins Taste too good to be healthy. PB addition is fun. Make a double batch and freeze, you'll thank me.

This guy is challenging Building a Story Brand, and I'm 🤯. I love frameworks. I love to see ideas challenged.

📺 How did I make it this far without talking about Super Bowl ads? 

I was anxiously awaiting what would happen with the M&M characters. Happy to see they were never going anywhere.

Tubi wins. First, the creepy rabbits, then the Fake out. I mean, come on. 💯 (Also, extremely disappointed that they are not getting mentioned in big media 🙄.)

Then there was the Ram: Premature Electrification. 😂 Ben Affleck and Dunkin. 🍩 And Avocados? 🥑

I'm reading What's In It For Them by Joe Polish and previewed a page here. Share on there what you think about feeing sales-y.

Have a beautiful week.

Lyndee