Walking in Peanut Butter

17 ways to get unstuck from overwhelm, overthinking, idleness, anxiety, shame, fear, and boredom.

Hiya Evergreenies!

Things are looking bright for the busy season at Evergreen HQ.

☑️ Thanksgiving feast devoured ☑️ Shopping started☑️ Holiday cards mailed📝 Bake lots and lots of cookies📝 Create content 

How is it going in your neck of the woods? 

peanutbutter

Ok, I need to be honest with you. Most days, it feels like I'm walking in peanut butter. Sticky, goopy peanut butter slowing me down. Stuck in this cycle of taking steps that don't move me forward.  

You know what I mean? Where progress is small, and the world is flying by. Or you go to pick up your feet, and you can't seem to go anywhere? 

There is a time and place for slowness and ease. Where the universe is guiding me. But when I'm fighting it, the peanut butter shows up. IT KNOWS. 

Stuckness is a lot of things. Overthinking. Overwhelm. Idleness. Anxiety. Shame. Fear. Boredom. 

So, how do we combat stuckness? Or is the question, where do we find the jelly?

17 Ways to Combat Being Stuck + Find Your Way Forward

  1. Start small. Pick one thing that is geared to your goal or vision and do it.

  2. Make a new habit. No matter how small it is, do it every day. It can be as simple as smiling in the mirror.

  3. Workout. I don't care how or what, move your body.

  4. Write. If you are overthinking everything, just put pen to paper and get it out. No, you don't have to publish it. And yes, it's ok if you do.

  5. Listen to your favorite music. Dance, sing, or play along.

  6. Reframe your situation.

  7. Face your inner critic. Tell her you are the one in charge.

  8. Live in the here now, now here moment. Watch the snow fall. Play with the kids. Drink your tea.

  9. Acceptance. I don't believe that everything needs to be forgiven. But you can accept the place you are in and move forward.

  10. Digital detox. Sometimes I'm stuck because of imposter syndrome, and I know it's time to step away from social for a while.

  11. Read. Grab a fun fiction, a moving memoir, or a timeless classic.

  12. Build a gratitude list. Bonus to turn it into a habit.

  13. Meditation. Prayer. Contemplation.

  14. Brain dump. Everything and anything you are working on, thinking about, and causing issues with your life - write it down. Prioritize and decide what is essential.

  15. Take a shower. Sometimes I get stuck in not taking care of myself. Showering is a simple way to wake back up.

  16. Check-in with your values. What do you need and want to feel like in your life? What is not helping you match those?

  17. Ask for help.

The theme here is action. Action! Action! Action! Yes, it sounds easier said than done. I know because I'm feeling it right now. But you know what? I'm feeling better already. 

Integrating with Work + Life 

If you're stuck at work, focus on these: 1, 2, 6, 7, 14, 16, 17If you're facing uncertainty, start with these: 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 15, 16If you're overthinking, you've got to try: 3, 4, 12, 13, 14If you just don't feel like you anymore, do this: 5, 11, 17

Pause. 

Everything is a cycle. There are highs and lows. Hills and valleys. Peanut butter days and jelly months. And when we put it all together, it's beautiful. This is our journey. We are creating character, just like they taught us in school. 

We are learning to lean into the slowness and get unstuck. 

💻 What I'm Learning

HubSpot Academy. Job descriptions are sprinkled with software and tools that marketers need to know, and more and more, I'm seeing HubSpot. This week I decided to give their training a go. So far, I can see why companies love to use it, plus they teach great marketing fundamentals. 

📺 What I'm Watching

Where the Crawdads Sing. Last year I read the book and couldn't wait for the movie. I loved the story, and while the book was better (of course), this midwestern girl had no idea what the marsh looked like. It was beautiful. 

🎵 What I'm Buying

No joke, I just bought 80-35 festival tickets for next July. This festival started way back in 2008, and I try not to miss one. No bands yet, love the suspense.

That list is not complete. It's endless, and only you can find the ways that work for you. Keep searching and trying. 

I appreciate you. I am thankful for you. And I look forward to sharing more with you next week. 

Stay warm! ❄️

Lyndee